biometrics, identification, human enhancement
 cloning, genetic modification, animal researchgenetics, dna, stem cell research
forensic, dna, criminal databasesmedical ethics, clinical trials, human biological research

Council Members

Dr Dolores Dooley - Chair
Philosopher and Lecturer in Bioethics

Dr Peter McKenna - Vice Chair
Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Rotunda Hospital
Mr Asim A. Sheikh, BL - Vice Chair
Forensic and Legal Medicine, School of Medicine and Medical Sciences, University College Dublin
Professor Alan Donnelly
Department of Physical Education and Sport Sciences, University of Limerick
Professor Andrew Green
School of Medicine and Medical Science, University College Dublin;
National Centre for Medical Genetics, Our Lady's Hospital for Sick Children

Dr Mary Henry
Retired Medical Practitioner and Former Independent Member of Seanad Éireann



Dr Richard Hull
Department of Philosophy, National University of Ireland Galway
Professor John Vincent McLoughlin
Department of Physiology, Trinity College Dublin
Mr Stephen McMahon
Irish Patients' Association

Awaiting Image

Mr Turlough O'Donnell SC
Practising Barrister and Former Chair of the Bar Council of Ireland 


Professor Cliona O'Farrelly
School of Biochemistry and Immunology, Trinity College Dublin

Professor Richard O'Kennedy
School of Biotechnology, Dublin City University

Professor David Smith
Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland


Dr Sheila M Willis
Director, Forensic Science Laboratory